Blogger Versus WordPress

I have a blogger account (http://rushmorejudd.blogspot.com/) and have been posting there infrequently for the past few years.  However, it looks like I will be switching to WordPress.  I received the following message from Google today:

“Important Update to Adult Content Policy on Blogger

You are receiving this message because you are the admin of a blog hosted on Blogger which is identified to have Adult content.

Please be advised that on June 30th 2013, we will be updating our Content Policy to strictly prohibit the monetization of Adult content on Blogger. After June 30th 2013, we will be enforcing this policy and will remove blogs which are adult in nature and are displaying advertisements to adult websites.

If your adult blog currently has advertisements which are adult in nature, you should remove them as soon as possible as to avoid any potential Terms of Service violation and/or content removals.

Sincerely,

The Blogger Team”

I don’t actually have any ads on my account but I find it extremely arrogant of google to impose censorship on their bloggers.  Shame on them.  This is the second step they have taken to censor adult content.  (The first was not allowing adult content in their AdSense ads.)  It’s a slippery slope.  The argument that they are still allowing you to post doesn’t hold water with me.  It is still a reduction of rights.  

What do you think?

About rushmorejudd

Independent author of erotic stories. https://rushmorejudd.wordpress.com/ https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/Rushmore
This entry was posted in Ponderings, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Blogger Versus WordPress

  1. marica0701 says:

    Bummer. I prefer Blogger over WP.

    But I’ll subscribe to you here.

  2. I think we’re all here on wp 😛 so better come bring your lustfully pretty posts here ^^

  3. roxics says:

    While I agree with you 100% about censorship, I’ve heard that this is more about content protection than censorship. A lot of people who run adult content on their blogs are just reposting it (aka stealing it from the original content creators) and then monetizing their blogs with ads. In turn making money off of other people’s content.

    I don’t know if I really believe that. I mean how much does Google really care about protecting the rights of adult content creators? It seems more like a moral marketing stance in order to drive those people away from blogger. I also don’t have a ton of faith that blogger will be around for a long time. Google is pushing pretty hard to make everything Google+ these days. So WordPress probably is the better choice.

    • rushmorejudd says:

      I’m sure there are some potential liabilities more involving the protection of children than content but large market leaders like Google (IMHO) have an obligation to find reasonable solutions to these problems. When you are a market leader the impact of censorship is very broad and ought to be avoided. I don’t buy the “piracy” argument. No one is going to make a lot of money stealing other’s work.

  4. philip hom says:

    I sort of see/understand your ulterior motives for moving to wp. I am partisan for wordpress and hope you also will consider pledging money towards xanga 2.0

  5. Well…selfishly I’m glad you’ll be posting here on WP. I will enjoy getting back into reading your writing.
    HUGS, adamswomanback from Xanga

Leave a Reply

